New around here!

Tell us about yourself and your bike(s), car(s), boat(s) or other toys
Ozhammer
Expert Stroker
Expert Stroker

New around here!

Post by Ozhammer »

Hi fellow forum members and 2-stroke devotees, I am new to the forum (thanks for the tip Jonw!), so I thought I would do the right thing and introduce myself to you all.

I am an expat Englishman, who moved to the Lucky Country 11 years ago, bringing with me my lifelong love of all things 2T. I am an aircraft engineer by background and find that the whole restoration process satisfies my long-since redundant need to twirl the spanners and fix stuff. I am also now finally lucky enough to have my own workshop, which when I convince the minister of finance to let me install a flat screen TV, will be just about perfect!

After disappointingly having to sell my beloved RD400F (UK 2R9 model) after 10 years of ownership, to partly fund our emigration plans, :cry: I have spent the last decade attempting to build up a small collection of all the bikes I owned/wanted as a young man, so here are the results of my efforts to date (in chronological order):

1974 Kawasaki S3, three owners from new, original Aussie delivered bike with just over 27,000 kms on its clock. In great original and unmolested condition but I have plans to upgrade the engine with a stage 1 tune and Johnny Aylor reed valve conversion and to fit alloy wheels, plus upgraded suspension and brakes to really make it something really special. :twisted:

1979 Yamaha RD400G (3M4 model), again three owners from new (I purchased it from the guy who had owned if since 1981), with just under 20,000 kms travelled (4,000 of which have been by me). Bike was subject to a medium restoration in 2014/15, which included new paint, complete engine rebuild (including a stage 1 tune by Stan Stephens) and lots of other work. It is a great bike and shows just how far Yamaha had developed the aircooled 2-stroke twin by the time it went on sale. :Clap: